Show Full Picture
TFC’s History at the NCCAA World Series
Written by

The Toccoa Falls College baseball team will participate in the NCCAA Division II World Series on May 8 – 11. The double elimination tournament will be hosted by Prasco Park in Mason, Ohio. The Eagles earned a berth to the national tournament by winning their second consecutive South Region title with a 4 – 2 victory over Florida Christian on April 29. The 2013 World Series will be the Eagles fifth straight national tournament appearance, and their third consecutive tournament as the number one seed. Toccoa Falls won the national tournament in 2009, 2011, and 2012 and finished as runner up in 2010.

In 2009 the Eagles won their first baseball national title despite entering the World Series as the #6 seed. In the opening round TFC defeated Manhattan Christian College 11 – 2 then proceeded to defeat Cincinnati Christian and Southeastern University 3 – 0 and 6 – 4, respectively. The Eagles needed one more victory to claim the national title, but were defeated 5 – 13 by Southeastern. The Eagles earned their revenge and their first national title with a 5 – 3 victory over Southeastern in a winner-take-all championship game.

photo 2(5)

The Eagles earned an at-large bid to the 2010 World Series as the three seed. The Eagles finished as national runner up with a 3 – 2  record at the tournament. TFC earned victories over Hillsdale (7 – 1) and Manhattan Christian (6 – 3 and 7 – 2). Toccoa Falls was defeated by the eventual champions Atlanta Christian College 3 – 9 in the third round and 1 – 12 in the championship game.

Toccoa Falls advanced as the number one seed with a perfect 4 – 0 record and captured their second national title at the 2011 World Series. At Prasco Park the Eagles defeated Philadelphia Bible College (15 -3), Dallas Christian College (10 – 1), and Clearwater Christian College (8 – 2 and 3 – 0). Of the five World Series appearances, the 2011 team was the only TFC team to be undefeated throughout the tournament.

photo 1(6)

At the 2012 World Series, TFC was once again the one seed, but the Eagles were forced to defeat Florida Christian twice without losing a game in order to defend their 2011 title. After defeating Lancaster Bible (10 – 0) and Dallas Christian (3 – 1), the Eagles were upset by Florida Christian 5 – 6. After the loss to FCC, Toccoa Falls topped Manhattan Christian 6 – 2 to advance to the national title game. Facing elimination again, TFC bested Florida Christian 5 – 0 to force a one game national championship playoff. In the title game, TFC defeated Florida Christian 3 – 2 and captured their second straight national title.


TFC will begin their title defense on Wednesday, May 8 at 1:00 PM. The Eagles will face the East Region winner. Cairn and Lancaster Bible will decided that region on May 4. The 2013 World Series will be streamed live through Torbeau Sports. More information will be released as it is made available.

The following student-athletes have earned recognition from the NCCAA since the 2009 World Series.

First Team All-American:

Pitcher Russ Pullen (2009)

3B Ryan Kirby (2009)

OF Brett Denney (2010)

2B Cam Fulcher (2011)

DH Zack Warner (2012)

P Nate Bowen (2012)

All-Tournament Team:

P/1B Pete Ervin (2009)

OF Matt Sprewell (2009)

INF Jody Hyde (2010)

P Derek Brown (2010)

C Adam Reynolds (2011)

1B Chris Sheridan (2011)

P Dylan Charles (2012)

P Zack Breeden (2012)

Tournament MVP:

P Russ Pullen (2009)

2B Cam Fulcher (2011)

P/OF Justin Key (2012)

Coach of the Year:

Justin Pollock (2009, 2011, 2012)

Sportsmanship Award:

TFC (2010)

Scholar Athletes

Corey Warner (2012)

Andrew Thorne (2012)