Curriculum Structure and Course Codes


The college structures the curriculum around the following definitions:


This is a basic core of subjects from the areas of Bible & theology, humanities, social sciences, computers, science & mathematics, as well as general education consisting of 69 semester hours. The college designed the core to acquaint students with the major areas of knowledge, to integrate this knowledge with Christian principles, and to enable them to participate intelligently and constructively in society as effective Christian witnesses.


This is the principal field of academic study usually consisting of 42 semester hours in the field, 15 of which may be in an area of concentration. A minimum of 30 required major hours must be from among prefixes offered by the School providing the major. Exceptions to the preceding definition in terms of range of hours are made for programs with specific accreditation or state certification requirements, i.e., majors in the Schools of Music and Teacher Education.


This is a specific area of study within a major usually consisting of 15 hours. The Professional Standards Commission of the State of Georgia specifies that Middle Grades Education majors complete two areas of concentration consisting of 15 semester hours each that include a broad range of lower and/or upper division coursework.


A grouping of courses used by the School of Music within a major that are specific to the applied principal of the student. This does not necessarily imply additional hours of study. However, performance majors in the vocal track study additional hours of a modern language. This area of study is also used by the School of Communication to represent an elective area of study consisting of nine hours of specified courses within the major.


This is a secondary area of specialized academic study usually consisting of 15 semester hours. Students may not minor in the same area as their major. To qualify as a Minor, the minor must consist of at least twelve unique semester hours that are over and above defined major requirements. Schools may choose not to permit students to select a minor from within their School.


Students may use any course in the curriculum, or accepted in transfer, to meet open elective requirements. Every major program is guaranteed a minimum of 15 semester hours of open electives that may be used to meet minor course requirements if students so desire. The Schools of Music and Teacher Education are not subject to the 15-hour minimum of open electives since they must meet special accreditation or state certification requirements.


The academic divisions of the college are identified as schools. In order to qualify as a school, the academic division must offer at least one major program leading to an academic degree. At the present time, nine undergraduate schools are in operation. These are Arts and Sciences, Bible and Theology, Business Administration, Christian Education, Communication, Counseling, Music, Teacher Education, and World Missions.


The college identifies each course by a three-letter prefix followed by a three- or four-digit number and, in some cases, terminated with a letter suffix:

100 – first-year subject
200 – second-year subject
300 – third-year subject
400 – fourth-year subject


The first digit of each course number usually indicates the year that the college recommends that students take the course. The second digit suggests the sequence in which students should take courses unless specific prerequisites are listed. The third digit indicates the number of semester hours of credit normally received for the course.


Certain letters may follow the course number. An X indicates the course is taught under another prefix within the college but may be taken for credit in keeping with the specified prefix. An E indicates that the course is being offered on an experimental basis.